Monday, January 18, 2010

Surf City final aptos high

The Surf City final provided a real tough test for all the riders and the mens A race even had the national champion Tim Johnson to set the pace. In the single speed catagory Sean Coffey rode strong and wound up second overall for the series with consistant riding all season. Dave Wyandt sealed up his win in the series finishing third on the day behind Johnson and the two Jaques-Mayne brothers, all of them professionals.
Aaron Kereluk rode well and finished in the top ten along with Scott Chapin, Josh Snead and Aaron Odell.

Brett Lambert rode with a splint on his broken thumb and preserved his podium spot for the series .

Kathleen Bortolussi and Michelle Perez got 2nd and 3rd for the series in the womens master 35+ catagory and won the traditional last race beer in the process.

The national champ took time out to pose for pictures with the locals. Tim is a class guy and stuck around the race until all the podium presentations were done and the parking lot was nearly empty.

Stella Carey won the overall in the elite womens division-she didn't expect it but the rest of us were not too surprised....Stella gets on the top step every year.

The Wolf triumphs in the overall and shares the podium with Josh Snead and Aaron Kereluk. If it weren't for injuries and some folks unable to make all the races, this podium would have been swept by the team. All in all, I would say that HRS/Rock Lobster was the team that showed up and really made it a race every weekend.

No comments: