Monday, November 13, 2017

Rock Lobster cup III Cowboy loop, Wilder Ranch

The third edition of the team race was a big success- the volunteers killed it, the sponsors killed it, the spectators  showed up and most of all, the participants made it a great day. The race sold out nearly a week before race day. Our course setup day went smoother than in the past and the State Parks rangers were pretty happy with how things turned out at the end of the event.

Hand made medals from Campbell Steers and Alex Work-enough Clif bars for nearly everyone  on every podium ( and that's a lot of people !) some hand made trophies for the elite races and the relay race made by Jeff was the local flavor and energy that made it a great race.

 The hand made banner from Rick Ortenblad with the race sponsors logos gave the podium a real official look and showed all the people there who in the industry who made the race possible. The bumpy challenging course with nearly 300' of climbing per lap and two water crossings will no doubt become something of legend in the history of Santa Cruz cyclocross.

With racers coming from as far away as Los Angeles and Sacramento, this was not just a locals only show. The fields were pretty large and the women's turnout was bolstered by the free entry feature instituted by the masters of ceremony, Brendan Lehman. Women represented nearly 25% of the total participants.

Free massage was available for the battered racers after their laps. Two DJ's were on the course entertaining the racers and spectators alike.
 Here are the team placings:
Junior boys 10-14:  Nathan Vahlberg 1st, Dan English 2nd, Matt Tomkins 4th.
Junior boys 15-17:  Dylan Gong 1st, Brian Kalcic 2nd, Connor Kredo-Brown 3rd.
Junior girls 10-14:  Shantalle Tupaz 1st, Grace Kredo-Brown 3rd.

Masters 65+: Brent Harris 2nd, Mark Brown 3rd.
Masters 55+: Greg Foy 4th.
Womens B : Ciara Wing 4th.
Mens single speed B: Phillip Sims 5th, Scott Junker 7th.
Mens B: Carter Chappelle 10th, Kyle Taylor 13th.

Men single speed A: Ian Stowe 3rd, Chris Seymour 7th.
Womens single speed : Campbell Steers 1st.
Womens A: Caroline Nolan 1st, Amanda Schaper 4th.

Mens A: Max Judelson 6th, Noah Hayes 8th, Emmet Tuttle 14th.
 After having a different venue each year it is looking like the Cowboy Loop might become the home of future Rock Lobster cup races. The Parks seem good with it and judging by the day, the participants feel the same way. This race is not just a fund raiser for the elite team but also brings around $ 5,000 to the State Parks and some money to MBOSC. I hope that you can be there next year if you didn't make it this time.

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Surf City CX !

Just a preview of the festivities.