Monday, September 28, 2015

CCCX III Manzanita park

 There have been many days in the history of this team where we brought about 3/4 of the team and at least 3/4 of them wound up on the podium. First of the day was David Kalcic racing the open C class instead of his 14-16 age group. He came in second. Next was Benoit Dubuisson getting second in the single speed B class adding to his two other podium spots in the series. Tim Watson rode strongly to third in the mens 45+ A race. Alexis De Zubria rode to third in the womens B race and Michelle Perez rode to third in the women's 45+ race. Greg Foy rode to third in the men's 55+ race , his fourth podium in as many races.
 In the Elite races the performance was even more dominant with Justin Abbott taking the win ( his first A win ever ) and 41 year old Alex Work coming in second. Rounding out the podium was Brendan Lehman riding a strong race finishing fifth. Ian Stowe came in eighth with a solid ride.The Womens Elite race was a similar story as Caroline Dezendorf rode an aggressive race for the win with Campbell Steers coming in third with a strong performance.
Other riders on the team had decent rides with Ben Dodge coming in tenth in the mens 35 A race, Rick Ortenblad 7th in the men's 55+, Frank Kalcic in twelfth in the men's 45 B race followed by Davind Crum in 18th, Detlef Adam in 22nd and Michael Schaller in 23rd.  Javier Valencia rode to 12th in the men's B field, one of the largest of the day.
 Ian Stowe in action riding well in spite of an earlier fall.
 Michael Schaller starting his race.
 Newcomer David Crum starting in the 45 B race.
 Campbell  Steers in full flight during the women's A race .
 Caroline on the front line starting a lead that she would not relinquish.
 The 45 A podium with Tim Watson.
The 55 + podium with Greg Foy.

Wednesday, September 09, 2015

CCCX I Ft. Ord

The conditions were very hot and dry at the season opener for the CCCX series on Sept. 6th. Many of our team were out of town and not able to be there but the riders who showed up represented in a big way. We didn't have to wait long for the first win: Benoit Dubuisson besting the rest in the single speed B race. In the 45 B race we had three riders, Detlef Adam at 18th , Michael Schaller at 21st, and newcomer David Crum at 21st after a lengthy wheel change.
 Later on in the mens 35 A race Ben Dodge showed some early season form and got 5th and a podium spot, his second of the season. Tim Watson had a good first race of the season coming in 7th in the large 45 A field.
 In the 55 + race Greg Foy showed again that he is ready to animate the race from the front and got 2nd. Rick Ortenblad followed at 8th place getting his first taste of CX since January.
 The second win of the day was in the women's A race. Caroline Dezendorf showed that she is ready to make life tough in Nor Cal for all the other women a racers. She led wire to wire and won by a healthy margin. Campbell Steers came in 3rd in one of here best performances ever at CCCX.
 The mens A race was dominated by a couple of other teams but our riders handled the course pretty well and were pretty much all in a row at the end of the race. Ian Stowe overcame a sore back and neck from a crash the week before to come in 8th with a strong ride. New team member Justin Abbott was the only rider that day to jump the barriers and did so with ease, coming in at 9th. Behind Justin was Ben Dodge racing his second race of the day at 10th. Last but not least was Brendan Lehman , delayed by a shoe problem he rode single speed in the elite race to 11th , even after two bike changes.
 In the end it was a really good start to the season and signs of a song lineup sure to shake up the standings in No-Cal. Big thanks go out to Voler, Clif, HRS, Enve, Knog, Paul Components, Chris King, Greg Foy construction, Go Westy, and all of our supporters. Big thanks to Bonny Doon airport, LLC for hosting our race on August 29th.

Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Rock Lobster cup race

The Rock Lobster cup fundraiser for the elite team was a huge success. Prize sponsors Clif bar, Knog, Sheila Moon, Ritchey design, Road magazine, WD-40 Bike, Pro-Gold, Strawfoot and Totally Tubular gave us the best prize list of any Nor-Cal CX event. 320 riders registered and the fields were top quality. Races ran a bit longer and folks got a real taste of that early season Bonny Doon dust. The team had some stellar results even with lots of key riders choosing to work the event instead of racing. Here's the results for the riders who participated:

Men's A race.
2nd. Max Judelson, 6th, Alex Work, 8th Andrew Juiliano. 29th Justin Abbott. 33rd  Dean Poshard.
Women's A race: Caroline Dezendorf  2nd, Campbell Steers 5th  Kelly Chang 6th.
Single Speed A race:  Brendan Lehman  4th, Eric Nelson 12th, Ian Stowe 13th, Simon Vickers 14th.
Junior 17-18   David Kalcic 1st.
Women's B race: Alexis De Zubria  5th.
Single speed B race : Benoit Dubuisson 3rd.
Men's 35 A race: Ben Dodge 5th, Ken Dick 8th, Zac Stanley 17th.
Men's 45 B race: Craig Ball 3rd, Frank Kalcic 27th.
Men's 55+: Greg Foy 1st, Mark Michel 4th.
Men's 65+ Hal Stanley 1st.

Thanks to all the sponsors and volunteers that made the race happen and a big thanks to Bonny Doon Airport, LLC for hosting the event and Jeff Clark for bringing the course furniture and setting up and running the timing.